Everybody Brings Noodles

Front Cover
Millbrook Press, Jan 1, 2002 - Juvenile Fiction - 40 pages
Carrie has worked hard to organize her neighborhood's 4th of July block party. Excitement hangs in the air as she makes sure that every last detail--from the food to the talent show--is ready. Carrie discovers that each family has prepared a special noodle dish. Her neighbors come from many different places and their dishes range from kugel to zaru soba. Accompanied by easy-to-make recipes, this tale is sure to please the young readers who loved Everybody Cooks Rice, Everybody Bakes Bread, and Everybody Serves Soup, as well as those who are new to Carrie's multicultural neighborhood.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - rschin1 - LibraryThing

I liked the book “Everybody Brings Noodles” by Norah Dooley for two reasons. First, the book pushes readers to think about other cultures and how noodles are universal. It broadens readers ... Read full review

EVERYBODY BRINGS NOODLES

User Review  - Kirkus

A neighborhood celebrates America's birthday by sharing its ethnic dishes in this latest of the Everybody series (Everybody Serves Soup, 2000, etc.). When Carrie hatches the idea of a block party for ... Read full review

Selected pages

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2002)

Norah Dooley is a storyteller and children's author. Norah's widely acclaimed picture books, Everybody Cooks Rice , Everybody Bakes Bread , Everybody Serves Soup , and Everybody Brings Noodles , (Carolrhoda) are four titles in a series about her former neighborhood in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Norah has performed as a featured storyteller in the Cambridge River Festival, Newport Folk Festival, Albany NY River Festival, 3 Apples Storytelling Festival, Christmas and Spring Revels in Cambridge, and and at the Clearwater Festival. Norah presents workshops and stories for people of all ages throughout New England and also in New York, Atlanta, Chicago, Dallas, and Phoenix. She has published six spoken word CDs, and she is the co-founder of massmouth.org, a 501c3 promoting the timeless art of storytelling through social media, education, and live performance. Norah was described as "an entrancing storyteller" by Scott Alarik in the Boston Globe .

Bibliographic information