Exciting Times: A Novel

Front Cover
Orion Publishing Group, Limited, Apr 16, 2020 - 288 pages

'The book of the summer ... Kept me rapt until the final page' THE TIMES

'A sharp, smart, witty modern love story. I loved it' David Nicholls, author of ONE DAY

'More than lives up to the hype ... Likely to fill the Sally-Rooney-shaped hole in many readers' lives' IRISH TIMES

'Droll, shrewd and unafraid - a winning debut' Hilary Mantel, author of WOLF HALL

'I've been pushing Exciting Times on everyone I know. Some of Dolan's pithy observations of her characters are the best I've read since Edward St Aubyn' OBSERVER

'A frankly sensational book' Pandora Sykes on THE HIGH LOW

'In the tradition of Dorothy Parker, Joan Rivers and Nora Ephron ... I found myself purring with pleasure. ...This is comic writing at the highest level' Craig Brown, DAILY MAIL

When you leave Ireland aged 22 to spend your parents' money, it's called a gap year. When Ava leaves Ireland aged 22 to make her own money, she's not sure what to call it, but it involves:

- a badly-paid job in Hong Kong, teaching English grammar to rich children;
- Julian, who likes to spend money on Ava and lets her move into his guest room;
- Edith, who Ava meets while Julian is out of town and actually listens to her when she talks;
- money, love, cynicism, unspoken feelings and unlikely connections.

Exciting times ensue.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - brangwinn - LibraryThing

Although this book was well-written, I was not the intended audience for it. Ava moves from Dublin to Hong Kong. She is an intelligent loner and when she finds herself unhappy with her roommates, she ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Hccpsk - LibraryThing

Can there be too many twenty-something, steam-of-consciousness, acerbically witty books? As a boring, middle-aged professional reader, I tend to think so, but Naoise Dolan has written a pretty good ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2020)

Naoise Dolan is an Irish writer born in Dublin. She studied English Literature at Trinity College Dublin and Oxford University, and now lives in London. Exciting Times is her debut novel, an excerpt from which was published in The Stinging Fly.

Bibliographic information