Extraordinary Canadians Lord Beaverbrook

Front Cover
Penguin Canada, Mar 4, 2008 - Biography & Autobiography - 192 pages
Press baron, entrepreneur, art collector, and wartime minister in Churchill's cabinet, Max Aitken was a colonial Canadian extraordinaire. Rising from a hardscrabble childhood in New Brunswick, he became a millionaire at age 25, earned the title of Lord Beaverbrook at 38, and by age 40 was the most influential newspaperman in the world. Fiercely loyal to the British Empire, he was nonetheless patronized by London's upper class, whose country he worked tirelessly to protect during World War II. David Adams Richards, one of Canada's preeminent novelists, celebrates Beaverbrook's heroic achievements in this perceptive interpretive biography.

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Disclaimer; I only read 1/3 of this book, because I did not enjoy the author's writing style. Specifically, I disliked his prolific use of parentheses in an attempt to explain events. I did enjoy his personalized take on Beaverbrook, but I will be looking for an alternative biography to learn more about this extrodinary Canadian.  


CONTENTS Introduction by John Ralston Saul
Authors Note
Early Times
Lawyers Apprentice and Campaign Manager
The Great World Beyond
Mr Stairs of the Union Bank of Halifax
Marriage in the New World
The Making of Prime Minister David Lloyd George
On Shaky Ground
The Press Baron Alley Fighter
The LongComing Rise of Mr Bonar
And Then Poor Gladys Dies
Free Trade and Stanley Baldwin I Presume
Signs of a New

The Great Canadian Cement Caper and the
English Shores
Cherkley as a Front for Family Life
Law Becomes Conservative Leader
War and the Boy from Newcastle
Comrade Stalins
Last Years

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

David Adams Richards is the author of the novels The Friends of Meager Fortune, River of the Brokenhearted, and Mercy Among the Children, which won the Giller Prize and was nominated for the Governor General's Award and the Trillium Award. He is the author of the celebrated Miramichi trilogy: Nights Below Station Street, winner of the Governor General's Award; Evening Snow Will Bring Such Peace, winner of the Canadian Authors' Association Award; and For Those Who Hunt the Wounded Down. His novel The Bay of Love and Sorrows has been made into a feature film.

Bibliographic information