Front Cover
Random House Publishing Group, Aug 10, 2011 - Fiction - 688 pages
0 Reviews
A sweeping anthology of works by an American original, including the complete text of The Sound and the Fury, a foreword by the author, his Nobel Prize address, and a selection of brilliant novellas and short stories, including:
“The Bear” (from Go Down, Moses)
“Old Man” (from The Wild Palms)
“Spotted Horses” (from The Hamlet)
“A Rose for Emily”
“Barn Burning”
“Dry September”
“That Evening Sun”
“Shingles for the Lord”
“A Justice”
“An Odor of Verbena” (from The Unvanquished)
“Percy Grimm” (from Light in August)
“The Courthouse” (from Requiem for a Nun)

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Three decades of Faulkner's writing are spanned in these selections he has made from his own work. His Foreword, in which he sums up his Credo- that the writer writes "to uplift man's heart", was ... Read full review


The Bear Go Down Moses
Spotted Horses The Hamlet
Dry September
That Evening
Shingles for the Lord
A Justice

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

William Faulkner, one of the greatest writers of the twentieth century, was born in New Albany, Mississippi, on September 25, 1897. He published his first book, The Marble Faun, in 1924, but it is as a literary chronicler of life in the Deep South—particularly in the fictional Yoknapatawpha County, the setting for several of his novels—that he is most highly regarded. In such novels as The Sound and the FuryAs I Lay DyingLight in August, and Absalom, Absalom! he explored the full range of post–Civil War Southern life, focusing both on the personal histories of his characters and on the moral uncertainties of an increasingly dissolute society. In combining the use of symbolism with a stream-of-consciousness technique, he created a new approach to fiction writing. In 1949 he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. William Faulkner died in Byhalia, Mississippi, on July 6, 1962.

Bibliographic information