Falls the Shadow: The Welsh Princes Trilogy 2

Front Cover
Pan Macmillan UK, Aug 1, 2012 - Fiction - 560 pages
15 Reviews

From the international bestselling author of The Sunne in Splendour and Lionheart

This novel about the struggle for power in England in the Middle Ages centres on the life of Simon de Montfort, a French nobleman who came to England to lay claim to an earldom, married the King's sister, and eventually mounted a civil war against Henry III.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - LisaMaria_C - LibraryThing

"Here Be Dragons" is probably my favorite Penman novel, with "Sunne in Splendour" it's only rival. "Falls the Shadow" and "The Reckoning" are the two other parts of Penman's "Welsh Princes" Trilogy ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Pmaurer - LibraryThing

Second in the Welch trilogy. Tale of Simon de Montfort, King Henry, and the grandson of prince Llywellen. Not as riveting as Here Be Dragons, but a good read nevertheless. On to the final section of the trilogy. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2012)

Sharon Kay Penman is the author of seven other historical novels and four medieval mysteries set during the reign of Eleanor of Aquitaine. She lives in Mays Landing, New Jersey. Her most recent novel is Lionheart, about Richard I and the Crusades, and her next book will be A King's Ransom, completing the story of Richard I.

Bibliographic information