Fearful Rock and Other Precarious Locales

Front Cover
Night Shade Books, 2001 - Fiction - 296 pages
1 Review
Fearful Rock and Other Precarious Locales is the 3rd volume of Night Shade Books’ five volume "Selected Stories of Manly Wade Wellman.” This volume is made up of eight novella length stories. It reprints Wellman’s "Judge Pursivant” and "Sergeant Jaeger” stories, as well as a lost classic that has not been reprinted since its original publication in Strange Stories, in 1939. In addition, it features an introduction by Wellman’s long time friend, Stephen Jones, who provides a heartwarming bit of historical perspective on Wellman, and the influential shadow that his work as cast over the genre.


* Introduction by Stephen Jones
* Fearful Rock
* Coven
* Toad’s Foot
* For the Love of a Witch
* The Hairy Ones Shall Dance
* The Black Drama
* The Dreadful Rabbits
* The Half-Haunted
* Some Notes on the Texts by John Pelan

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - dark_phoenix54 - LibraryThing

Originally written over a span from 1938 to 1979 for various fantasy pulps- mostly ‘Weird Tales’- these stories are great short horror stories. They range from the grim (Fearful Rock) to the almost ... Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2001)

Manly Wade Wellman (May 21, 1903 - April 5, 1986) was an American writer.While his science fiction and fantasy stories appeared in such pulps as Astounding Stories , Startling Stories , Unknown and Strange Stories , Wellman is best remembered as one of the most popular contributors to the legendary Weird Tales , and for his fantasy and horror stories set in the Appalachian Mountains, which draw on the native folklore of that region. Karl Edward Wagner referred to him as "the dean of fantasy writers." Wellman also wrote in a wide variety of other genres, including historical fiction, detective fiction, western fiction, juvenile fiction, and non-fiction.Wellman was a long-time resident of North Carolina. He received many awards, including the World Fantasy Award and Edgar Allan Poe Award.

C.C. MacApp rose to prominence in the 60s with his profound short stories that were more in the traditional mold than the new wave of the time. In the 60s he wrote the "Gree" series. John Pelan, who wrote the introduction, knows more about MacApp than anyone and shares it with you.

Bibliographic information