Five Flavors of Dumb

Front Cover
Penguin, Nov 11, 2010 - Young Adult Fiction - 352 pages
48 Reviews
Winner of the Schneider Book Award
The award-winning author of the Elemental series delivers a rock-and-roll novel that Lauren Myracle called “raw, fresh, funny, and authentic.”
 
The Challenge: Eighteen-year-old Piper has one month to get her high school’s coolest rock band Dumb a paying gig.

The Deal: If she does it, Piper will become the band’s manager and get her share of the profits.

The Catch: How can Piper possibly manage a band made up of an egomaniacal pretty boy, a talentless piece of eye candy, a silent rocker, an angry girl, and a crush-worthy nerd boy? And how can she do it when she’s deaf?

Piper is determined to show her classmates that just because she’s hearing impaired doesn’t mean she’s invisible. With growing self-confidence, a budding romance, and a new understanding of her parent’s decision to buy a cochlear implant for her deaf baby sister, she discovers her own inner rock star and what it truly means to be a flavor of Dumb.

For fans of K. L. Going’s Fat Kid Rules the World and Catherine Gilbert Murdock’s Dairy Queen.

 

 

 

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
21
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
1

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - NigeltheKid - LibraryThing

4Q 5P Piper cannot hear and becomes estranged against her family when her parents take money from her college fund to pay for cochlear implants for her younger sister. When she becomes manager of the ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - abrial2433 - LibraryThing

VOYA Ratings: 4Q, 4P What does it take to manage and promote Seattle's resident up and coming teen rock band? Determination and guts: check. A slight case of rebellious 'because I can' spirit: check ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Antony John (antonyjohn.net) is a stay-at-home dad who writes by night - the only job that allows him to wear his favorite pair of sweatpants all the time. He lives with his family in St. Louis, Missouri.

Bibliographic information