Five Modern Nō Plays

Front Cover
Vintage Books, 1973 - Japanese literature - 198 pages
2 Reviews

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - snowby - LibraryThing

Fascinating series on Noh plays set in modern times, but still faithful to the spirit of the originals. Mishio may have been crazier than a Betsybug, but man did he know how to write! He had the ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - HadriantheBlind - LibraryThing

Read three of the plays before going to bed and had wonderful surreal dreams. This is remarkable. I'd always had an interest in Noh, and Mishima does a faithful job at combining and synthesizing the old and new. Read full review


soroaa xomacnr
THE nnmasx nnum

2 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1973)

Yukio Mishima, the pseudonym for Hiraoka Kimitake, was born in Tokyo in 1925. His work covers many styles: poetry, essays, modern Kabuki ja Noh drama, and novels. Among his masterpieces are The Temple of the Golden Pavilion, and the four-volume novel Sea of Fertility, which outlines the Japanese experience in the 20th century. Each of the four volumes in this series has a distinct title--Spring Snow, Runaway Horses, The Temple of Dawn, and Five Signs of a God's Decay--and they were published over a six-year period, from 1965-1970. Mishima's plays include Tenth Day Chrysanthemum, and the Kabuki piece The Moon Like a Drawn Bow. Although Mishima was been nominated three times for the Nobel Prize for Literature, he never received it. Nevertheless, he is considered by many critics as one of the most important Japanese novelists of the 20th century. Yukio Mishima died by his own hand in 1970, committing seppuku (ritual disembowelment).

Bibliographic information