For the Love of a Soldier: An unforgettable saga of an impossible love

Front Cover
Headline, Apr 12, 2012 - Fiction - 247 pages
0 Reviews

Can their love survive the battles they'll have to face?

For the Love of a Soldier is a gritty and compelling saga of love, war and prejudice in 1940s Southampton docklands, from much-loved author June Tate. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Josephine Cox.

'What a tangled and wonderful wartime web is weaved here' - Northern Echo

Maggie Evans is living with her parents at their docklands pub in Southampton when the GIs arrive to support the British troops in 1943. She's never met anyone like American Steve Rossi, and it's hard to resist his good looks and easy confidence. But there's another side to Steve, and when he pulls a knife during a fight, Maggie begins to wonder what other secrets he's concealing.

Joshua Lewis is everything Steve's not: kind, considerate and honest. And he's black. When he and Maggie become friends, Steve's true colours are revealed; he's a bigot as well as a dangerous criminal. Maggie realises only just in time that it's Joshua, not Steve, she loves. But can she and Joshua make a go of it in a world set against them?

What readers are saying about For the Love of a Soldier:

'This book was a joy from start to finish'

'Excellent love story with the back drop of WWII'

'Super book - five stars'

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2012)

June Tate was born in Southampton and worked on cruise ships for several years before marrying an airline pilot. They lived in Portugal before returning home to settle in Sussex. June has two adult daughters.

Bibliographic information