The four orchestral suites, BWV 1066-1069

Front Cover
Courier Corporation, 2000 - Music - 102 pages
0 Reviews

The four orchestral suites of Johann Sebastian Bach are superb examples of the composer's innovative mastery of the many dance forms so popular throughout the courts of eighteenth-century Europe. From lively to sedate, on display are all manner of dances from elegant sarabandes to vivacious gigues and rondeaux. Included among these courtly treasures are the world-famous "Badinerie" for solo flute, strings, and continuo (from Suite No. 2), and the lovely "Air on the G String" (from Suite No. 3).
Reproduced from the authoritative Bach-Gesellschaft edition, this volume contains Suite No. 1 in C Major, No. 2 in B Minor, and Nos. 3 and 4, both in D Major. All four works appear in full score. Ideal for study in the classroom, at home, or in the concert hall, this affordable, high-quality, conveniently sized volume will be the edition of choice for all lovers of great music.


What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Suite No 3 in D Major
Suite No 4 in D Major

About the author (2000)

Composer, organist, and harpsichordist, Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) was a major figure of the Baroque period. An accomplished violinist, he created many popular works for the instrument.

Bibliographic information