Frayn Plays: 4: Copenhagen; Democracy; Afterlife

Front Cover
A&C Black, Jul 14, 2010 - Drama - 432 pages

Michael Frayn is one of the great playwrights of our time, enjoying international acclaim and prestige. This anthology contains three of his strongest titles of serious drama: Copenhagen, Democracy and Afterlife. The volume features the definitive version of each play together with an introduction by the author and a chronology of his work.

Copenhagen: 'The most invigorating and ingenious play of ideas in many a year and a work of art that humanizes physics in a way no other has done' New York Times
'Michael Frayn's tremendous new play is a piece of history, an intellectual thriller, a psychological investigation and a moral tribunal in full session.' Sunday Times
'A profound and haunting meditation on the mysteries of human motivation.' Independent
Democracy: 'Michael Frayn's complex and richly rewarding new wonderfully alert to the piquant paradoxes and ironic twists of this intensely tricky period in Germany's conversation with itself.' Independent
'What makes Frayn's play essential viewing is its Schiller-like grasp of practical politics' Guardian
'Michael Frayn's one of those rare dramas that don't just dare to think big but that fully translate their high aspirations to the stage, with sharp style and thrilling clarity' New York Times
Afterlife: 'This play is almost literally brilliant - it glitters, shines and gleams with Frayn's trademark perceptive wit as it sends up the whole concept of theatre in the process of telling a strong, essentially tragic biographical story' The Stage


What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Copenhagen is a fascinating and intriguing play, based on the historical event of Werner Heisenberg's visit to Niels Bohr in Copenhagen in 1941. Having seen the play in London and Los Angeles, I bought the script so I could examine the intricacies of the story. It helps to have had some exposure to concepts of nuclear physics, but the play is more about personal integrity, relationships and how time tends to distort memory. It's a challenging but rewarding read! 



Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Michael Frayn's work for the stage includes Alphabetical Order, Make and Break and Noises Off, all of which received Best Comedy of the Year awards, while Benefactors was named Best Play of the Year. His other works include Democracy and Copenhagen (winner of numerous awards including the Evening Standard and Critics' Circle Best Play Awards 1998). He is also a novelist and recipient of the Whitbread Prize for Best Novel for Spies.

Bibliographic information