Full Contact Sudoku: How Four Rugby Mates Realised Their Dream of Playing for Australia

Front Cover
HarperCollins Australia, Apr 1, 2011 - Fiction - 192 pages
0 Reviews
In the tradition of Nigel Marsh's FAT, FORTY AND FIRED and OBSERVATIONS OF A SHORT MAN, Danny Wallace's YES MAN, Tony Hawkes' ROUND IRELAND WITH A FRIDGE, and Dave Gorman GOOGLEWHACK ADVENTURE, this book celebrates the underdog, the Aussie sense of humour, and giving your dream a go, no matter the odds stacked against you. Four blokes had a dream. A dream of playing for Australia, of being a Wallaby. Mick Colliss and his mates Skiffo, Hamish and Sandy first played rugby together when they were in their twenties. two decades later, when they realise that desire is no substitute for ability, they refuse to relinquish their dream. But how to achieve it? Full Contact Sudoku is a laugh-out loud true story about never giving up, no matter the odds stacked against you. It's a mate's own adventure that takes a group of washed up sportsmen - who had never even completed a Sudoku puzzle - halfway around the world, just for the honour of wearing the green and gold. It's a journey into the high-pressure world of elite international competition. Humiliation lurks around every corner. Being able to bench press your own body weight counts for nothing. they know this is their one shot at a world title. they've picked themselves for the Australian Sudoku team and packed their bags for India. It's their only chance to represent their country with pride. they're the 10,000 to 1 outsiders. the underdogs. And they wouldn't have it any other way. Ladies and gentlemen, sharpen your pencils.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

PLAYING FOR AUSTRALIA
Foreword
CHAPTER 1
CHAPTER 2
CHAPTER 3
CHAPTER 4
CHAPTER 5
CHAPTER 6
CHAPTER 16
CHAPTER 17
CHAPTER 18
CHAPTER 19
CHAPTER 20
CHAPTER 21
CHAPTER 22
CHAPTER 23

CHAPTER 7
CHAPTER 8
CHAPTER 9
CHAPTER 10
CHAPTER 11
CHAPTER 12
CHAPTER 13
CHAPTER 14
CHAPTER 15
CHAPTER 24
CHAPTER 25
Photographic Insert
Honour Roll
Backword
Acknowledgements
About the Author
Copyright
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Originally from Sydney, Mick Colliss moved to Perth in 1988 to study and play rugby at the University of Western Australia. His poetry has been recited on 2UE, 6PR, Channel 10 and Channel 7 and published in The Sydney Morning Herald, The West Australian, The Sunday Times, Rugby League Week and Rugby News. He was awarded ‘Best Sports Poem in 2002’ by SMH columnist and bestselling author Peter FitzSimons.

Bibliographic information