Galveston Gunman

Front Cover
Ballantine Books, 1990 - Fiction - 192 pages
0 Reviews
This post-Civil War era western opens with three desperados bushwacking loner Lee Strate and lifting his hard-earned stake of $5000. Wounded and left for dead on a trail somewhere near Houston, Lee is saved by Jack Farmer, a free black man, who tends Lee's wounds and agrees to help recover the money. In Houston, Lee finds out that the three bad guys work for Colonel Benson, an ambitious and evil hombre, fiercely racist and still fighting the war. When Benson takes off for Galveston, Lee and Jack follow, and soon discover that Benson and his henchmen are stirring up racial trouble among the dock workers. In Washington, President Hayes has heard about the tensions in Galveston, and asks former President Grant to visit the city as a goodwill gesture. Benson plans to have his boys assassinate Grant. Meanwhile, Lee falls in love with an high-spirited woman whom he meets at a greased-pig catching contest.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

16 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1990)

Bill Crider was born in Mexia, Texas on July 28, 1941. He received a M.A. from the University of North Texas and a Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Austin. He taught English at Howard Payne University for twelve years and then became the chair of the division of English and fine arts at Alvin Community College. He retired in August 2002 to become a full-time writer. He wrote several mystery series including the Truman Smith series, the Sheriff Dan Rhodes series, the Carl Burns series, the Sally Good series, and the Stanley Waters series, which he co-authored with Willard Scott. He also contributed to three books in the Stone: M.I.A. Hunter series under the pseudonym Jack Buchanan. His standalone novels included The Texas Capitol Murders and Blood Marks. He also wrote five children's books. Too Late to Die won an Anthony Award for best first mystery novel in 1986. He died from cancer on February 12, 2018 at the age of 76.

Bibliographic information