Gaslight in Page Street: A compelling saga of community, war and suffragettes (Tanner Trilogy Book 1)

Front Cover
Headline, Nov 11, 2010 - Fiction - 469 pages
1 Review

In the aftermath of the Great War, a young woman struggles to win independence - and to find love.

Harry Bowling begins his Tanner Trilogy with Gaslight in Page Street - an engrossing saga of life between the wars for one East End community. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Lizzie Lane.

'What makes Harry's novels work is their warmth and authenticity. Their spirit comes from the author himself and his abiding memories of family life as it was once lived in the slums of southeast London' - Today Magazine

Page Street, a shabby, cobbled and gaslit Bermondsey backstreet, is home to a diverse and close-knit community fighting an ongoing battle against poverty, hunger and the devastating effects of the Great War.
George Galloway owns a cartage business; his right-hand man is William Tanner. William's loyalty has worn thin over the years but he cannot break the ties with Galloway because times are hard and the house in which he lives belongs to him.

Carrie Tanner grows up in the heart of a poor yet loving family, but as she becomes a young woman she gets involved in the Suffragette movement. The times are changing - and quickly. Will this close-knit community be able to pull together or will it be torn apart?

What readers are saying about Gaslight in Page Street:

'For anyone wondering whether to buy this book or not just BUY IT! I have not been able to put it down, it captures the time perfectly and I feel like I am living the story - it is so descriptive, he brings the characters to life'

'I loved this book. I felt transported back to my grandparents' time. The characters were very real. Hard to put down'

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - kazimiera - LibraryThing

this was a really good read for fans of family sagas this really is an unmissable book it is the first part of a trilogy i had not read anything by this author before my husband picked this for me at our local library as he felt that i would enjoy it and he was right Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Harry was born in 1931 in a back street off the Tower Bridge Road. Only when his own children began to ask questions about the war, did Harry realise how many stories he had to tell. He became known as 'the King of Cockney sagas', and he wrote eighteen bestselling novels of London life. After Harry died in 1999, the Harry Bowling Prize was set up in his memory.

Bibliographic information