Gelignite Jack: A Sweet Comedy, Apostrophe, East Fortieth

Front Cover
Véhicule Press, Jan 1, 1996 - Fiction - 127 pages
0 Reviews

Paul Davies is the author of Grace: A Story, Oblique Litanies, The Wreck of the Apollo, Dropping the Chase: The Enigmas of the Goddess, and Pig Iron, a novel. A departure from the exotic locations and adventure of his earlier writing, Paul Davies' Gelignite Jack is three stories concerned with the articles, belief, and passage of youth, midlife, and old age. Spiced with Davies' flair for magic realism, the stories—about a young person getting into theatre, a researcher in the High Arctic, and an old woman having to leave her home—are interwoven as a suite. "The term Renaissance Man is often applied to those who dabble in just two or three different fields. But what else can you call someone who's formally studied music, higher mathematics, and graphic design—and worked as a typesetter, technical writer, music marketeer, oil and gas industry consultant, antiquarian bookseller, cartoonist, and even computer programmer: Meet Paul Davies" - Gordon Graham, Quill & Quire What the critics say: "Grace: A Story by Paul Davies is an engaging, interesting, and implausible combination of historical fiction, science fiction, and fantasy, with didactic elements from comparative mythology and elsewhere .... a real and particular mind and talent are at work in this book..." - Gerald Owen, Books in Canada

"Grace packs an existential punch and enriches readers with a technical knockout ... exquisitely well-crafted, illuminated with wit, compassion, and warmth.... Hallelujah!" - Judith Fitzgerald

"Davies displays a remarkable refusal to be constrained by assumptions about the plausible and the acceptable. They [Grace and Dropping the Chase] possess a haunting quality I suspect will be with me for a long time...." - W.J. Keith

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

9 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1996)

Paul Davies is an internationally acclaimed physicist, writer and broadcaster. He received degrees in physics from University College, London. He was Professor of Natural Philosophy in the Australian Centre for Astrobiology at Macquarie University, Sydney and has held previous academic appointments at the Universities of Cambridge, London, Newcastle upon Tyne and Adelaide. Most of his research has been in the area of quantum field theory in curved spacetime. Davies has also has written many books for the general reader in the fascinating fields of cosmology and physics. He is the author of over twenty-five books, including The Mind of God, Other Worlds, God and the New Physics, The Edge of Infinity, The Cosmic Blueprint, Are We Alone?, The Fifth Miracle, The Last Three Minutes, About Time, and How to Build a Time Machine. His awards include an Advance Australia Award for outstanding contributions to science, two Eureka Prizes, the 2001 Kelvin Medal and Prize by the Institute of Physics, and the 2002 Faraday Prize by The Royal Society for Progress in religion. He also received the Templeton Prize for his contributions to the deeper implications of science. In April 1999 the asteroid 1992 OG was officially named (6870) Pauldavies in his honour.

Bibliographic information