Girl on the Verge

Front Cover
Kensington Books, Jul 1, 2017 - Young Adult Fiction - 254 pages
From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.

In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.

When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how it much intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong...

Praise for The Darkest Lie

“Heartbreaking and heroic. You won’t be able to turn the pages fast enough!” --Romily Bernard, author of the Find Me trilogy

“A twisty, fast-paced thriller that kept me guessing to the end.” —Shannon Grogan, author of From Where I Watch You

“This one will tug your heart and leave you breathless!” --Natalie D. Richards, author of Six Months Later

“A headlong rush into the shadows of secrets that should not be kept.” –Michelle Zink, author of Prophecy of the Sisters
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - cln1812 - www.librarything.com

Kan is the only Asian girl in her small-town Kansas school. She doesn't fit in in America, and in Thailand, she towers over everyone else. Though raised in the Thai tradition, Kan is American - though ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Title Page Copyright Page Dedication Prologue
Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Chapter 28
Chapter 29
Chapter 30
Chapter 31
Chapter 32
Chapter 33
Chapter 34
Chapter 35

Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Chapter 12
Chapter 13
Chapter 14
Chapter 15
Chapter 16
Chapter 17
Chapter 18
Chapter 19
Chapter 20
Chapter 21
Chapter 22
Chapter 23
Chapter 24
Chapter 25
Chapter 26
Chapter 27
Chapter 36
Chapter 37
Chapter 38
Chapter 39
Chapter 40
Chapter 41
Chapter 42
Chapter 43
Chapter 44
Chapter 45
Chapter 46
Chapter 47
Chapter 48
Chapter 49
Chapter 50
Chapter 51
Acknowledgments
A READING GROUP GUIDE
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2017)

When Pintip Dunn’s first‑grade teacher asked her what she wanted to be when she grew up, she replied, “an author.” Although she has pursued other interests over the years, this dream has never wavered. Pintip graduated from Harvard University, with an A.B. in English Literature and Language. She received her J.D. at Yale Law School, where she was an editor of the Yale Law Journal. She now lives in Maryland with her husband and three children. Pintip is a 2012 Golden Heart® finalist and a 2014 double‑finalist. She is a member of Romance Writers of America, Washington Romance Writers, YARWA, and The Golden Network. Visit her online at pintipdunn.com, or follow her on Twitter @pintipdunn.

Bibliographic information