Gnyss the magnificent: three verse plays

Front Cover
Chatto & Windus, 1993 - Drama - 312 pages
Glyn Maxwell's poems are adventures from the known to the unknown, seeming to take even more delight in the exploration than in the content of the lessons learned. A series of verse letters to the English poet Edward Thomas, killed in the First World War, anchors the book, but the variety of form and mood here -- from the mysteriously introspective to the overtly humorous -- is breathtaking. With this, his fourth collection of poems, Glyn Maxwell proves himself to be a contemporary master in the tradition of W. H. Auden, Philip Larkin, and even Robert Frost, whose time in both England and America he evokes.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1993)

Glyn Maxwell was born in 1962 in Hertfordshire, England. He studied English at Oxford & poetry at Boston University. Among the honors he has received are the Somerset Maugham Prize & the E.M. Forster Prize. He now lives with his wife & their daughter in Massachusetts, where he teaches at Amherst College.

Bibliographic information