Goodbye, Orchid: To Love Her, He Had To Leave Her

Front Cover
Koehler Books, 2020 - Fiction - 280 pages
One of the most anticipated 2020 fall reads: Buzzfeed l Parade l Travel+Leisure. Winner: 2020 American Fiction Award l Pinnacle Achievement Award.

"Page-turner" "Breath of awe" "Tugs on your soul"


Can love blossom after life changes in an instant?

One July morning in Manhattan, handsome athlete and entrepreneur Phoenix Walker accompanies his love, half-Asian beauty Orchid, to the airport.

Neither believes today is goodbye.

But after she leaves, disaster strikes. Phoenix wakes in the hospital, broken, forever changed. He longs for Orchid but remembers the tragedy in her past that makes her panic over images of trauma.

Now, he's faced with the hardest decision of his life. Does he burden the woman whose traumatic childhood makes him feel protective of her? Or does true love mean leaving her without explaining why?


Rising from ashes is hard. Giving up the one you love is harder.


"A tale of sacrifice and rebirth; heroism is in the details." -SSGT Aaron Michael Grant, author of TAKING BAGHDAD: Victory in Iraq With the US Marines


If you like heart-warming stories of resilience and magnanimous heroes, then you'll love this award-winning tale that's inspired by combat-injured veterans. For fans of Me Before You and Fault in Our Stars, Goodbye, Orchid asks...

"What choice does a wounded hero have when loving his woman means breaking his own heart?"


Order your copy of Goodbye, Orchid and immerse yourself in this beautiful love story. Available in Kindle, paperback and hardcover.

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

I couldn’t put it down! “Goodbye, Orchid” is a magnificent novel full of love, perseverance, and the true ebb and flow characteristic of life’s greatest challenges. An absolute must read!

Other editions - View all

About the author (2020)

Carol Van Den Hende is an author and Lone Star Writing Contest finalist who pens stories of resilience and hope. She's also a speaker, strategist, and serves on nonprofit boards. One secret to her good fortune? Her humorous husband, fun-loving twins, and rescue cat, who prove that love really does conquer all.

Bibliographic information