Goodbye, Orchid: To Love Her, He Had To Leave Her

Front Cover
KOEHLER BOOKS, 2020 - Fiction - 280 pages
Rising from ashes is hard. Giving up the one you love is harder.

Thirty-two year-old Phoenix Walker is an entrepreneur who has built an agency with a heart almost as big as his own. To add to his good fortune, he's falling for Orchid Paige, the beautiful half-Asian marketer who's collaborated with him on a winning military campaign.

They've grown close after months working and traveling together. She's even divulged the trauma in her past that makes her panic over images of injured vets. He's trying not to cross their professional boundary.

The searing attraction between them builds.

Until an accident changes him forever.

Now, he's faced with the hardest decision of his life. Does he burden the woman whose traumatic childhood makes him feel protective of her? Or does true love mean leaving her without explaining why?


Lone Star Writing Contest finalist


This debut novel by Carol Van Den Hende is inspired by and researched with combat-wounded veterans. A portion of the earnings benefits military personnel and other non-profits.

If you like heart-wrenching romances and magnanimous heroes, then you'll love this emotionally-charged story. For fans of Me Before You and Fault in Our Stars, Goodbye, Orchid asks...

"What choice does a wounded hero have when loving his woman means breaking his own heart?"

Order your copy of Goodbye, Orchid and immerse yourself in this beautiful love story. Available in Kindle, paperback and hardcover.


What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2020)

Carol Van Den Hende is an author and Lone Star Writing Contest finalist who pens stories of resilience and hope. She's also a speaker, strategist, and serves on nonprofit boards. One secret to her good fortune? Her humorous husband, fun-loving twins, and rescue cat, who prove that love really does conquer all.

Bibliographic information