Goodbye, Orchid: To Love Her, He Had To Leave Her

Front Cover
Azure Press, 2020 - Accidents - 280 pages
One of the most anticipated 2020 fall reads: Buzzfeed l Parade l Travel+Leisure. Winner: 2020 American Fiction Award l Pinnacle Achievement Award.

"Page-turner" "Breath of awe" "Tugs on your soul"


Can love blossom after life changes in an instant?

One July morning in Manhattan, handsome athlete and entrepreneur Phoenix Walker accompanies his love, half-Asian beauty Orchid, to the airport.

Neither believes today is goodbye.

But after she leaves, disaster strikes. Phoenix wakes in the hospital, broken, forever changed. He longs for Orchid but remembers the tragedy in her past that makes her panic over images of trauma.

Now, he's faced with the hardest decision of his life. Does he burden the woman whose traumatic childhood makes him feel protective of her? Or does true love mean leaving her without explaining why?


Rising from ashes is hard. Giving up the one you love is harder.


"A tale of sacrifice and rebirth; heroism is in the details." -SSGT Aaron Michael Grant, author of TAKING BAGHDAD: Victory in Iraq With the US Marines


If you like heart-warming stories of resilience and magnanimous heroes, then you'll love this award-winning tale that's inspired by combat-injured veterans. For fans of Me Before You and Fault in Our Stars, Goodbye, Orchid asks...

"What choice does a wounded hero have when loving his woman means breaking his own heart?"


Order your copy of Goodbye, Orchid and immerse yourself in this beautiful love story. Available in Kindle, paperback and hardcover.

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

What happens if fear and silence thwart a promising relationship? Can love overcome silence, and what would it take to make that work?
In Goodbye Orchid foxy, successful Phoenix puts his girl
friend on a plane to China, and on his way back to the office his life is permanently altered when a homeless man he’s trying to help pushes him onto the train tracks. The train crushes an arm and a leg. On a scale of 1-10, the adjustments he faces are at least a 12. Is his handicap insurmountable? And how will the love of his life, who witnessed her parents’ murder and can’t stand to look at pictures of the disabled, react to the new Phoenix?
Set mostly in a burgeoning boutique ad agency in New York City, this is a well-researched story about what the loss of limbs can do to a couple. Readers will empathize with both Phoenix and Orchid, the girl friend in China who doesn’t know what happened to her lover. Author Carol Van Den Hende delves into the ever-escalating emotional consequences that each of them face at the same time she creates a promising story of overcoming physical obstacles. It’s also a story of clashing egos, the need to be right, and resistance to compromise.
Phoenix’s twin brother, Caleb tries to help out of a combination of guilt and familial loyalty, not that he was in the train station. A concerned mother, a pushy assistant, and a collection of former girlfriends round out the cast. The author tackles a subject that’s still underrepresented in a compelling way.
Author Carol Van Den Hende is an award-winner who writes about resilience and hope. Goodbye, Orchid won the 2020 American Fiction Award for urban fiction, 2020 Pinnacle Achievement Award for multicultural fiction, IAN Outstanding Fiction for Best New Novel, Royal Dragonfly Award, Audiobook Reviewer Author of the Year and more. It was named one of the most anticipated fall reads by Buzzfeed, Parade, and Travel+Leisure, and has been featured in Glamour, the Chicago Tribune, the LA Times, DIYMFA, WABC Radio among others. She’s also a speaker, strategist, Board member and Climate Reality Leader.
If you like quick romances filled with love, heartbreak, and courage, this is a book you shouldn’t miss.
 

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

I couldn’t put it down! “Goodbye, Orchid” is a magnificent novel full of love, perseverance, and the true ebb and flow characteristic of life’s greatest challenges. An absolute must read!

Other editions - View all

About the author (2020)

Carol Van Den Hende is an author and Lone Star Writing Contest finalist who pens stories of resilience and hope. She's also a speaker, strategist, and serves on nonprofit boards. One secret to her good fortune? Her humorous husband, fun-loving twins, and rescue cat, who prove that love really does conquer all.

Bibliographic information