Griefbox and Other Plays

Front Cover
Salt Publishing, 2001 - Drama - 203 pages
0 Reviews
Griefbox is a cutting-edge collection of six contemporary Australian plays written with wit, precision, and great humour by poet, playwright, and theatre historian, Susan Bradley Smith. The plays roam across intellectual and geographical landscapes as diverse as the 73 bus traversing north London, Sydney’s charmed harbourside and its dark underbelly, Michigan’s Great Lakes, and the unspeakable horizons of outback Australia. The characters variously love money, cricket, revenge, the beach, sex, politics, escape, money, sex, business, fighting, sex, and even love. The plays have recognisable naturalistic settings but are populated with characters possessing poetic possibilities that slip in and out of realism as they try to grapple with the very real problems that exercise their day-to-day lives. Incest, unemployment, suicide, infidelity, the Vietnam War, black history and white occupation in rural Australia, racism, motherhood, abortion, and the search for and loss of love are just some of the themes that occupy this collection of unforgettable plays. Susan Bradley Smith is the kind of feminist writer who knows her fin de siecle from her ‘fin de shark’ and devotes her creative energies to patrolling the troubled waters that men and women find themselves in in contemporary life. Her plays provide a dramatic space for different worlds to emerge, and they are almost impossible to leave behind once you enter them: this is the theatre of transformation at its confessional best.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (2001)

Smith was educated at the universities of New South Wales and New England, and the National Institute of Dramatic Arts. She teaches Australian Studies at Kings College, University of London.

Bibliographic information