Haiku Knits: 25 Serenely Beautiful Patterns Inspired by Japanese Design

Front Cover
Watson-Guptill, 2009 - Crafts & Hobbies - 144 pages
2 Reviews
Haiku, the graceful and evocative form of Japanese poetry, celebrates nature in all its subtle and unobtrusive beauty. In Haiku Knits, this appreciation for understated, direct beauty is expressed in the texture of a felted skirt, the rhythm of a chain of twisted cables, or the casual elegance of an asymmetric sweater. Author Tanya Alpert, a knitwear designer and fiber artist, presents 25 simple, modern garments and accessories inspired by Japanese design, featuring innovative elements and beautiful fibers. These technically simple yet stylish and sophisticated designs will appeal to fashion-forward knitters at all skill levels. Illustrated throughout with stunning photographs, this elegant book also includes an appendix of essential techniques.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

Great Book!

User Review  - gottaknit - Overstock.com

This book has a lot got great patterns for every occasion. Well written with great pics. A must for fans of Kimono and Japaneseinspired sweaters. Read full review

Contents

COI1I1S
10
Evening Mist
75
Windswept Grass
103
Seaweed S2 Skill Levels
136
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

TANYA ALPERT is a knitwear designer and knitting instructor. She owns Knitting by the Beach, a yarn store in Solana Beach, California.

Bibliographic information