Hearts of Darkness: Serial Killers, the Behavioral Science Unit, and My Life as a Woman in the FBI

Front Cover
Orion, Oct 19, 2023 - True Crime - 320 pages

For fans of Mindhunter, Criminal Minds, and My Favorite Murder, a riveting memoir of a trailblazing woman's life hunting down serial killers as one of the first female profilers of the FBI Behavioral Sciences Unit and the real-life model for Clarice Starling in The Silence of the Lambs.

'Jana Monroe is the single most influential woman to ever serve in the FBI.' -Joe Navarro, bestselling author of What Every BODY Is Saying

The gripping true account of one woman's encounters with some of the darkest criminal minds in history.

Jana Monroe was no ordinary cop: over the course of her career she consulted on more than 850 homicide cases. Through her work, she crossed paths with Ted Bundy, Jeffrey Dahmer, Edmund Kemper, Aileen Wuornos, and hundreds of other murderers.

Over the course of an utterly astonishing career in law enforcement and intelligence analysis, Monroe has come face-to-face with hundreds of the darkest criminals in American history. Her notoriety even led her to become the person whom the character of Clarice (Jodie Foster) in The Silence of the Lambs was modelled, and she even trained Foster for the role.

Hearts of Darkness
is Monroe's incredible story, stepping out from the shadows to tell a range of gripping, sometimes gruesome, and always remarkable tales from the top moments of a life fighting the evil among us.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2023)

Jana Monroe had a distinguished 22-year career in the Federal Bureau of Investigation where she held a variety of field investigative and operational roles across the United States, including more than five years as a criminal profiler at Quantico, Virginia. Her career culminated with Monroe pioneering as one of few women in the FBI Executive Leadership ranks: She served as special agent in charge in Phoenix, Arizona, and Los Angeles, California, two of the largest FBI field offices in the United States, and was the first assistant director of the FBI Cyber Division, based in Washington, DC. After retiring from the Bureau, Monroe entered the private sector and now serves as the vice president of global security for Herbalife. She lives in Arlington, Texas.

Bibliographic information