Front Cover
HarperCollins Publishers Limited, 2010 - Fiction - 460 pages
57 Reviews

Introducing the monk Giodarno Bruno, magician, scientist, and heretic in a new series of historical thrillers for fans of C.J.Sansom and 'The Name of the Rose'

In Elizabeth's England, true faith can mean bloody murder...

Oxford, 1583. A place of learning. And murderous schemes.

The country is rife with plots to assassinate Queen Elizabeth and return the realm to the Catholic faith. Giordano Bruno is recruited by the queen's spymaster and sent undercover to expose a treacherous conspiracy in Oxford - but his own secret mission must remain hidden at all costs.

A spy under orders. A coveted throne under threat.

When a series of hideous murders ruptures close-knit college life, Bruno is compelled to investigate. And what he finds makes it brutally clear that the Tudor throne itself is at stake...

Heretic, maverick, charmer: Giordano Bruno is always on his guard. Never more so than when working for Queen Elizabeth and her spymaster - for this man of letters is now an agent of intrigue and danger.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Northern_Light - LibraryThing

This book starts in Italy where Giordano Bruno is a monk who questions Catholic theology which is not acceptable in the 16th century. He manages to escape the ensuing inquisition and travels through ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - cbloky - LibraryThing

i liked the book it was a mystery taking place in the 1500's. it was an easy read and one that kept you wanting to continue to it was done. having read many mysteries this one kept me guessing and not figuring it out to it was reveled. will look for more in the series Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller S. J. Parris is the pseudonym of the author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student at Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno.

Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines, as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.

Bibliographic information