Heresy

Front Cover
HarperCollins Publishers Limited, 2010 - Fiction - 460 pages
54 Reviews

Introducing the monk Giodarno Bruno, magician, scientist, and heretic in a new series of historical thrillers for fans of C.J.Sansom and 'The Name of the Rose'

In Elizabeth's England, true faith can mean bloody murder...

Oxford, 1583. A place of learning. And murderous schemes.

The country is rife with plots to assassinate Queen Elizabeth and return the realm to the Catholic faith. Giordano Bruno is recruited by the queen's spymaster and sent undercover to expose a treacherous conspiracy in Oxford - but his own secret mission must remain hidden at all costs.

A spy under orders. A coveted throne under threat.

When a series of hideous murders ruptures close-knit college life, Bruno is compelled to investigate. And what he finds makes it brutally clear that the Tudor throne itself is at stake...

Heretic, maverick, charmer: Giordano Bruno is always on his guard. Never more so than when working for Queen Elizabeth and her spymaster - for this man of letters is now an agent of intrigue and danger.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
5
4 stars
34
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
3

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - kdf_333 - LibraryThing

so i just skimmed through it. i gotta say the former monk Bruno was not an attractive character. he was so arrogant. plus his philosophy was just to heretical for me and i read about all sorts of ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - idiotgirl - LibraryThing

Kindle. 16th century as I recall. Some interesting information about underground Catholics. But overall it was not a particularly exciting book. Thriller/ detective. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller S. J. Parris is the pseudonym of the author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student at Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno.

Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines, as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.

Bibliographic information