Hidden Lives: A Family Memoir

Front Cover
Penguin Adult, 1996 - Biography & Autobiography - 308 pages
5 Reviews

Margaret Forster's grandmother died in 1936, taking many secrets to her grave. Where had she spent the first 23 years of her life? Who was the woman in black who paid her a mysterious visit shortly before her death? How had she borne living so close to an illegitimate daughter without acknowledging her?

The search for answers took Margaret on a journey into her family s past, examining not only her grandmother's life, but also her mother s and her own. The result is both a moving, evocative memoir and a fascinating commentary on how women s lives have changed over the past century.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - nicx27 - LibraryThing

I have had this book for a few years now, but had put off reading it because I was worried it might be a rather staid biography. However, this was not the case at all, and I found it an absolutely ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - nocto - LibraryThing

When I grabbed this book from BookMooch I didn't realise it was non fiction. I was expecting one of Forster's novels which seem to revolve around the themes of mothers and daughters and dying. This ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1996)

Margaret Forster was born in Carlisle, England on May 25, 1938. She read history at Somerville College, Oxford. Before her writing career took off, she was a teacher at a girls' school. She is the author of over 40 books of fiction and non-fiction. Her novel include Mother, Can You Hear Me?, Have the Men Had Enough?, Lady's Maid, Private Papers, Diary of an Ordinary Woman, Over, Isa and May, The Unknown Bridesmaid, and How to Measure a Cow. Georgy Girl, published in 1965, was made into a film starring Lynn Redgrave in 1966. She has written several memoirs including Hidden Lives, Precious Lives, and My Life in Houses. Her biography Elizabeth Barrett Browning won the Heinemann award and her 1993 biography of Daphne du Maurier won the Fawcett book prize and was filmed for the BBC as Daphne in 2007. She also wrote a history of feminism entitled Significant Sisters in 1984. She died of cancer on February 8, 2016 at the age of 77.

Bibliographic information