Hood: The King Raven Trilogy -

Front Cover
Thomas Nelson Inc, Apr 8, 2008 - Fiction - 512 pages
61 Reviews

Robin Hood: The Legend Begins Anew

For centuries, the legend of Robin Hood and his band of thieves has captivated the imagination. Now the familiar tale takes on new life, fresh meaning, and an unexpected setting.

Hunted like an animal by Norman invaders, Bran ap Brychan, heir to the throne of Elfael, has abandoned his father's kingdom and fled to the greenwood. There, in a primeval forest of the Welsh borders, danger surrounds him--for this woodland is a living, breathing entity with mysterious powers and secrets, and Bran must find a way to make it his own if he is to survive.

Steeped in Celtic mythology and the political intrigue of medieval Britain, Stephen R. Lawhead conjures up an ancient past and holds a mirror to contemporary realities. Prepare yourself for an epic tale that dares to shatter everything you thought you knew about Robin Hood.


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Schlyne - LibraryThing

I don't really care for the idea of Robin Hood in a more Celtic setting, and I bet most people don't either. In reading the author's notes, you can see why he chose to do so, but Stephen R. Lawhead ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - glitzandshadows - LibraryThing

Robin Hood! Ok, I admit, I have a lot of general feelings about Robin Hood. I frequently have meltdowns while thinking about Robin Hood. Please, don’t ask me why, we don’t question these things. So ... Read full review

All 6 reviews »

Selected pages


Part One Day of The Wolf
Part Two In Coed Cadw
Part Three The May Dance
Part Four The Haunting
Part Five The Grellon
Robin Hood In Wales?
Pronunciation Guide

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Novelist Stephen R. Lawhead was born in July 2, 1950 in Kearney, Nebraska. He graduated from Kearney State College. He wrote his first novel, In the Hall of the Dragon King (1982) to try to support his family. This launched his literary career. Many of Lawhead's works are based on Celtic history and Arthurian legend. He has also written children's books, adapting many of them from stories he told his children. Lawhead's various series include Bright Empires, The Pendragon Cycle, and the King Raven Trilogy. The second book in the King Raven Trilogy, Scarlet, won a Christy Award in the category of Visionary Fiction.

Bibliographic information