I Dwell in Possibility: A Memoir

Front Cover
Feminist Press at the City University of New York, 2001 - Biography & Autobiography - 300 pages
1 Review

In this moving autobiography, Toni McNaron bravely depicts her early encounters with racism in pre-civil rights Alabama alongside her personal struggle with sexual identity. This book is a powerful social document as well as a brave account of one woman's emotional, psychological, and intellectual self-actualization over five decades. "An engrossing read in the tradition of Audre Lorde's Zami and Maya Angelou's I Know Why the Cage Bird Sings."—Susan Stanford Friedman, Professor University of Wisconsin-Madison

Marketing Plans for I Dwell in Possibility:
• Updates new edition of the ground-breaking 1992 memoir
• Radio interviews, author reading, and tour in the Midwest
• Extensive outreach to the gay and lesbian media

Toni McNaron teaches women's studies and English at the University of Minnesota and is the editor of The New Lesbian Studies: Into the Twenty-First Century.

What people are saying - Write a review

I dwell in possibility: a memoir

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

As a lesbian coming into womanhood in the 1950s and starting her career in the 1960s, McNaron writes movingly about the years she spent closeted about her sexuality and unable to make real connections ... Read full review

References to this book

Bibliographic information