I Am Legend

Front Cover
Macmillan, 1995 - Fiction - 317 pages

Robert Neville is the last living man on Earth...but he is not alone. Every other man, woman, and child on Earth has become a vampire, and they are all hungry for Neville's blood.

By day, he is the hunter, stalking the sleeping undead through the abandoned ruins of civilization. By night, he barricades himself in his home and prays for dawn.

How long can one man survive in a world of vampires?

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Cecrow - LibraryThing

I saved the title story for last, reading all of the others first, which is probably not the best approach in hindsight. Matheson's earliest written stories are generally his best, but even these didn ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - whitewavedarling - LibraryThing

I can't believe it took me so long to get around to reading this book, but I'm glad I finally did. First of all, I had no idea that 'I am Legend' actually encompasses a number of novellas and short ... Read full review

All 9 reviews »

Other editions - View all

About the author (1995)

Richard Matheson (1926-2013) was The New York Times bestselling author of I Am Legend, Hell House, Somewhere in Time, The Incredible Shrinking Man, Now You See It..., and What Dreams May Come, among others. He was named a Grand Master of Horror by the World Horror Convention, and received the Bram Stoker Award for Lifetime Achievement. He has also won the Edgar, the Spur, and the Writer's Guild awards. In 2010, he was inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame. In addition to his novels Matheson wrote several screenplays for movies and TV, including several Twilight Zone episodes.

Bibliographic information