In My Own Time: Almost an Autobiography

Front Cover
Virago, 1994 - Children's stories - 175 pages
Nina Bawden, one of the most accomplished contemporary novelists, is admired as a writer who unravels the complex emotions that simmer beneath respectable family life. Her first book appeared in 1953. Since then, she has published a further nineteen adult novels, including Circles of Deceit, shortlisted for the 1987 Booker Prize and later a BBC film, and the acclaimed Family Money (1991). She is also a successful children's author: her bestselling and televised novel Carrie's War (1973) has become a contemporary classic; most recently she has published The Real Plato Jones (1994). Now Nina Bawden turns an acute eye to her own story. She weaves a rich tapestry of the past, its characters and the 'myths, half-truths, fancies and deceits' that make up family history. She tells of her childhood evacuation to Suffolk and Wales during the War where, billeted with seven different families, she discovered their own dusty skeletons, and of her years at Oxford, where she knew Richard Burton and Margaret Thatcher. She writes, too, in what becomes a tribute to them both, a courageous account of her oldest son, Niki, who was diagnosed as a schizophrenic. With colourful, resonant prose that finely balances laughter and pain, In My Own Time is a triumph from a consummate storyteller.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (1994)

Nina Bawden was born in Ilford, Essex, England on January 19, 1925. She received a B.A. in 1946 and a M.A. in 1951 from Somerville College, Oxford. During her lifetime, she wrote more than 40 books for both children and adults. Her first adult novel was published in 1953. Her books for adults include Circles of Deceit, The Ruffian on the Stair, and Dear Austen. Her first children's book The Secret Passage was published in 1963. Her children's books include Kept in the Dark, Humbug, The Birds on the Trees, Carrie's War, The Outside Child, Granny the Pag, and Off the Road. She received numerous awards for her work including the 1976 Guardian Children's Fiction Prize for The Peppermint Pig and the 1977 Yorkshire Post Novel of the Year Award for Afternoon of a Good Woman. She was made a CBE in 1995 and received the ST Dupont Golden Pen Award for a lifetime's contribution to literature in 2004. She died on August 22, 2012 at the age of 87.

Bibliographic information