Irwin Allen Television Productions, 1964–1970: A Critical History of Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea, Lost in Space, The Time Tunnel and Land of the Giants

Front Cover
McFarland, Jun 5, 2012 - Performing Arts - 352 pages
0 Reviews
Before establishing himself as the “master of disaster” with the 1970s films The Poseidon Adventure and The Towering Inferno, Irwin Allen created four of television’s most exciting and enduring science-fiction series: Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea, Lost in Space, The Time Tunnel and Land of the Giants. These 1960s series were full of Allen’s favorite tricks, techniques and characteristic touches, and influenced other productions from the original Star Trek forward. Every science-fiction show owes something to Allen, yet none has equaled his series’ pace, excitement, or originality. This detailed examination and documentation of the premise and origin of the four shows offers an objective evaluation of every episode—and demonstrates that when Irwin Allen’s television episodes were good, they were great, and when they were bad, they were still terrific fun.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


1 Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea September 1964March 1968
2 Lost in Space September 1965March 1968
3 The Time Tunnel September 1966April 1967
4 Land of the Giants September 1968March 1970

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

Freelance writer Jon Abbott has written more than 400 articles on American television and related topics for more than 20 magazines. He lives in Brighton, England.

Bibliographic information