It Could Be Worse, You Could Be Me

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Apr 13, 2010 - Biography & Autobiography - 304 pages

“Ariel Leve is the love child of David Sedaris and Fran Leibowitz. An original and funny voice…. Insightful and sharp.”
— Joan Rivers

“Ariel Leve is brilliant and funny and the only other person I know without an oven. Buy this book and keep it close.”
— Bill Nighy

“Funny, smart, delightfully cranky”(AJ Jacobs) Ariel Leve’s Sunday Times Magazine (London) column “Cassandra” moves to book form. It Could Be Worse, You Could Be Me offers a humorously bleak perspective on life’s potential to turn out badly… and Ariel’s innate ability to put the black cloud into the silver lining. This is a book for schadenfreude aficionados; for readers who identify with Cassandra’s slogan, “worrying is my yoga”; and for fans of Seinfeld, Ugly Betty, Sex & the City, Curb Your Enthusiasm, David Sedaris, Woody Allen, and New Yorker cartoons.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0

IT COULD BE WORSE, YOU COULD BE ME

User Review  - Kirkus

A Debbie Downer pontificates on the minutiae of her daily life.Sunday Times Magazine contributor Leve apparently likes only two things: drinking coffee and talking on the phone. But even those things ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - LiteraryFeline - LibraryThing

It isn't often I pick up a book of essays to read, but occasionally I find they make good in between reading--even better than a short story collection in some ways. The essays are short and perfect ... Read full review

Contents

Introduction
1
Getting Through the Day
5
Friendship
19
It Could Be Worse
37
Them and Us A View from the Basement
55
Personality Defects
77
Socializing
95
Modern Manners
111
Sweating the Small Stuff
165
My Father the Optimist
179
Romance
185
Health Concerns
213
Not a Fan
229
And Another Thing
245
If Only
257
Acknowledgements
283

Other Peoples Relationships
131
Life in the Shade
151
Index
285
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Ariel Leve is an award-winning journalist who has written for the Guardian, Financial Times Magazine, the Telegraph, the Observer, and the London Sunday Times Magazine, where she was a senior writer and a columnist. At the British Press Awards she was short-listed twice for Interviewer of the Year and Highly Commended twice. Her books include It Could Be Worse, You Could Be Me.

Bibliographic information