Jack Kirby's Fourth World Omnibus, Volume 3

Front Cover
DC Comics, Nov 7, 2007 - Comics & Graphic Novels - 396 pages
4 Reviews
After co-creating comic book heroes including The Fantastic Four and The Hulk, legendary writer/artist Jack Kirby came to DC Comics in 1970 to write and illustrate four interlocking series known collectively as "The Fourth World." Now, for the first time, DC collects these four series -- The New Gods, The Forever People, Mister Miracle and Superman's Pal Jimmy Olsen -- in chronological order as they originally appeared. These comics spanned galaxies, from the streets of Metropolis to the far-flung worlds of New Genesis and Apokolips, as cosmic-powered heroes and villains struggled for supremacy. Volume 1 features the debuts of Orion of the New Gods, the evil Darkseid, super-escape artist Mister Miracle and many others. It also features numerous appearances by Superman.

What people are saying - Write a review

Jack Kirby's Fourth World Omnibus, Vol. 3

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

After leaving Marvel Comics, where he cocreated the Fantastic Four, the X-Men, and other famous characters, comics giant Kirby moved to DC in 1970 with a plan for a cosmic-scale epic. Through four ... Read full review

Kirby is still the King

User Review  - Overstock.com

What an incredible talent!Kirby was the king no matter if he was sitting at DC or Marvel.I blazed through the first volume of the Fourth World Omnibus and am taking a bit more time to savor volume 2 ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2007)

Jack "King" Kirby's comics career began in 1937 and continued for nearly six decades. As the most valued team in comics, Simon and Kirby went on to create titles and concepts including Fighting American, Boys' Ranch and the creation of the romance comics genre. In 1961, the first issue of Marvel's Fantastic Four cemented Kirby's reputation as comics' preeminent creator, and a slew of famous titles followed that elevated him to legendary status, including Incredible Hulk, Avengers and X-Men. Kirby returned to DC in 1971 with his classic "Fourth World Trilogy," which was followed by The Demon, Omac and Kamandi. Kirby continued working and innovating in comics until his death in 1994.

Bibliographic information