Front Cover
Pan Books, 2002 - War stories - 595 pages
2 Reviews
A brand new thriller from the master storyteller set against the menacing backdrop of the Second World War and crackling with suspense and action. It is May, 1944 - a time of international tension where nothing is certain... Two weeks before D-Day, the French Resistance attack a chateau containing a telephone exchange vital to German communications - but the building is heavily guarded and the attack fails disastrously. Flick Clairet, a young British secret agent, proposes a daring new plan: she will parachute into France with an all-woman team known as the 'Jackdaws' and they will penetrate the chateau in disguise. But, unknown to Flick, Rommel has assigned a brilliant, ruthless intelligence colonel, Dieter Franck, to crush the Resistance. And Dieter is on Flick's trail...

What people are saying - Write a review

Ken Follett Fiction

User Review  - 2donald1 - Overstock.com

This is an excellently written suspence novel with great attention toperiod detail is very fastpaced & gripping in its story line. I recommendit highly to anyone who loves a good taut yarn. Read full review


User Review  - tazzdisco - Overstock.com

Who can resist a cute petite blond badass girl spy against the Nazis The bad guy is rather likable as well. Both the protagonist and antiprotagonist dislike the parts of their duties that require them ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2002)

Ken Follett was born in Wales, United Kingdom on June 5, 1949. He received an Honours degree in philosophy from University College, London. He began his career as a newspaper reporter for the South Wales Echo and later with the London Evening News. He decided to switch to publishing and worked for a small London publishing house, Everest Books, eventually becoming Deputy Managing Director. His first bestselling novel, Eye of the Needle, was published in 1978 and won the Edgar Award. His other works include Triple, The Key to Rebecca, The Man from St. Petersburg, Lay Down with Lions, The Pillars of the Earth, The Third Twin, The Hammer of Eden, Code to Zero, Whiteout, World Without End, The Century Trilogy, and A Column of Fire. Many of his novels have been adapted into films and television miniseries. He has won numerous awards including the Corine Prize in 2003 for Jackdaws. His nonfiction works include On Wings of Eagles.

Bibliographic information