Jacques Maritain: The Philosopher in Society

Front Cover
Rowman & Littlefield, 1998 - Philosophy - 243 pages
0 Reviews
The mind of French philosopher Jacques Maritain reflected on subjects as varied as art and ethics, theology and psychology, history and metaphysics. Maritain's work on the theoretical groundings of politics arose from his diverse studies. In this book, theologian and political scientist James V. Schall explores Maritain's political philosophy, demonstrating that Maritain understood society, state, and government within the framework of natural law and human rights and duties, in the tradition of Aristotic and Aquinas. Schall pays particular attention to the ways in which evil appears in political forms and how this evil can be dealt with morally. Schall's study will be of great importance to students and scholars of political science, philosophy, and theology.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

Justice Brains and Strength Machiavelli and Modernity in Political Philosophy
3
On the Relation Between Art and Politics
23
On the Political Importance of the Philosophic Life
41
On Defining Political Things
61
The Natural Law Natural Right Dilemma
81
Democracy Anthropocentric and Christian?
101
The Authority of Freedom and the Freedom of Authority
123
The Friendship that Leads to Law and Justice
143
Maritain on the Enigma and Intelligibility of Evil
163
Maritain on The Mystery of Israel
183
The Possibility of a World Common Good
203
Conclusion
223
Bibliography
229
Index
237
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1998)

James V. Schall is professor of government at Georgetown University. He is the author of numerous books, including At the Limits of Political Philosophy: From 'Brilliant Errors' to Things of Uncommon Importance, Does Catholicism Still Exist?, and Reason, Revelation, and the Foundations of Political Philosophy.

Bibliographic information