JanŠček's Works: A Catalogue of the Music and Writings of Leoš JanŠček

Front Cover
Clarendon Press, 1997 - Music - 522 pages
0 Reviews
LeosJanacek (1854--1928) is one of the few great opera composers of the twentieth century; his operas, orchestral, chamber, and vocal works are all part of the international repertory. This catalogue is by far the most comprehensive to appear in any language, with up-to-date and reliableinformation on all his works. Each entry provides detailed information on date of composition (and shows on what basis dating has been arrived at); source of text or programme; performing forces; duration; manuscripts and their locations; publication (a complete listing); performances andproductions; dedication; literature. A special feature is the explanation of terms which may be unfamiliar to the western reader such as 'Glagolitic', 'Varyto', 'Lachian', and 'Indian Club Swinging'. This catalogue is also the first to include a complete, annotated list of the composer's variedand extensive writings.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Arrangements and transcriptions
Writings compiled by Theodora Strakovd
Glossary of Moravian Dances
Timeline of Jandceks compositions
Index of compositions
General index
Index of writings

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1997)

Nigel Simeone is at Nottingham University. John Tyrrell is at University of Nottingham.

Bibliographic information