Jane Austen's Sanditon: A Village by the Sea

Front Cover
AuthorHouse, 2010 - Fiction - 496 pages
0 Reviews
When Jane Austen died in 1817, she left behind 120 pages of manuscript that would eventually be published as Sanditon. Praised by some critics and condemned by others, this final effort by the great English writer has for the most part been overlooked in favor of the novels that were published during her lifetime and shortly after her death. For the first time, an entire book is devoted to examining this fragment to establish it as Jane Austen's potential masterpiece. With a new setting and a greater range of characters than found in earlier works, this novel composed during the last months of her short life, if completed, would at the same time have continued her series of magnificent novels and created new possibilities for novels to come.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


The Manuscript
The Title
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Chapter 12

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

In 2003, Dr. Arthur M. Axelrad published Jane Austen Caught in the Act of Greatness, a diplomatic transcription with notes of the manuscript pages of Persuasion and Sanditon. In this new book, he continues his study of the fragment published as Sanditon, with emphasis on the selection of the title and a detailed examination of the extant text. He has also published several articles in Persuasions.The author received his bachelor's degree from Brooklyn College and his master's and doctor's degrees (with a prize-winning dissertation on John Milton's divorce tracts) from New York University. During his long tenure at California State University, Long Beach, besides teaching courses in Medieval and Renaissance literature (including William Shakespeare and John Milton), he created offerings in such widely divergent specialties as Sherlock Holmes and Jane Austen.Writing as Arthur M. Alexander, he published Hot on the Scent: A Visitor's Guide To The London of Sherlock Holmes (Calabash Press) in 1999 And The Helsinki Chronicles of Dr. Louise C. Love and Mr. P.: Six Adventures in Finland's Capital, with Notes by Olen Sukkela Poika (AuthorHouse) in 2005.

Bibliographic information