Jo's Boys: How They Turned Out: A Sequel to 'Little Men'

Front Cover
The Floating Press, Jan 1, 2009 - Fiction - 418 pages
0 Reviews
Jo's Boys, and How They Turned Out: A Sequel to "Little Men" is commonly considered to be the last novel in Louisa May Alcott's Little Women series. It takes place ten years after Little Men and follows the children from that book into adulthood. Out in the world they deal with love, ambition, and the snobbery of society.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Chapter 1 Ten Years Later
Chapter 2 Parnassus
Chapter 3 Jos Last Scrape
Chapter 4 Dan
Chapter 5 Vacation
Chapter 6 Last Words
Chapter 7 The Lion and the Lamb
Chapter 8 Josie Plays Mermaid
Chapter 13 Nats New Year
Chapter 14 Plays at Plumfield
Chapter 15 Waiting
Chapter 16 In the TennisCourt
Chapter 17 Among the Maids
Chapter 18 Class Day
Chapter 19 White Roses
Chapter 20 Life for Life

Chapter 9 The Worm Turns
Chapter 10 Demi Settles
Chapter 11 Emils Thanksgiving
Chapter 12 Dans Christmas
Chapter 21 Aslaugas Knight
Chapter 22 Positively Last Appearance

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

Louisa May Alcott was born in Germantown, Pennsylvania, in 1832. Two years later, she moved with her family to Boston and in 1840 to Concord, which was to remain her family home for the rest of her life. Her father, Bronson Alcott, was a transcendentalist and friend of Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau. Alcott early realized that her father could not be counted on as sole support of his family, and so she sacrificed much of her own pleasure to earn money by sewing, teaching, and churning out potboilers. Her reputation was established with Hospital Sketches (1863), which was an account of her work as a volunteer nurse in Washington, D.C. Alcott's first works were written for children, including her best-known Little Women (1868--69) and Little Men: Life at Plumfield with Jo's Boys (1871). Moods (1864), a "passionate conflict," was written for adults. Alcott's writing eventually became the family's main source of income. Throughout her life, Alcott continued to produce highly popular and idealistic literature for children. An Old-Fashioned Girl (1870), Eight Cousins (1875), Rose in Bloom (1876), Under the Lilacs (1878), and Jack and Jill (1881) enjoyed wide popularity. At the same time, her adult fiction, such as the autobiographical novel Work: A Story of Experience (1873) and A Modern Mephistopheles (1877), a story based on the Faust legend, shows her deeper concern with such social issues as education, prison reform, and women's suffrage. She realistically depicts the problems of adolescents and working women, the difficulties of relationships between men and women, and the values of the single woman's life.

Bibliographic information