Le Tombeau de Couperin: In Full Score

Front Cover
Courier Corporation, 2001 - Music - 134 pages
1 Review

This volume contains a pair of works originally written for piano by French composer Maurice Ravel (1875 1937) and later orchestrated by him. Conceived as homage to eighteenth-century French music, "Le Tombeau de Couperin" (Couperin's Tomb) is a four-piece suite consisting of "Prelude," "Forlane," "Menuet," and "Rigaudon." Written between 1914 and 1917, it was dedicated to the composer's close friends who died in World War I.
"Valses Nobles et Sentimentales" (Elegant and Lyrical Waltzes) pays tribute to the work of Franz Schubert. Composed in 1911 and orchestrated in 1912 to serve as music for the ballet "Adelaide, ou le langage des fleurs" (Adelaide, or the language of flowers), these eight uninterrupted waltzes abound in Schubertian characteristics, with their lilting rhythms, rubato, balanced phrases, straightforward form, and unexpected harmonic subtleties."

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2001)

Maurice Ravel was one of the most original and sophisticated composers of the early 20th century. He wrote several operas, including "L'Enfant et les Sortileges" ("The Child and the Spell"), as well as ballets, and orchestral and chamber music. Sidonie-Gabrielle Colette collaborated with Ravel on "L'Enfant et les Sortileges" and wrote the libretto for it. Pegi Deitz Shea is the award-winning author of "The Carpet Boy's Gift," "Liberty Rising," "Patience Wright," "Tangled Threads," "Ten Mice for Tet," and "The Whispering Cloth," She lives in Rockville, Connecticut. Serena Riglietti has illustrated more than 50 children's books, including the Italian editions of the Harry Potter series.

Bibliographic information