Madam, Will You Talk?

Front Cover
Hodder & Stoughton, May 26, 2011 - Fiction - 320 pages
10 Reviews

The original queen of the page-turner Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey through a dangerous and deadly Provence in this tale perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.

'Mary Stewart is magic' New York Times

'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent

'The terrible thirsty heat of the Provençal summer, the noise of the cicadas, the dust of the country buses . . . an excellent tale of mystery' The Times

It sounds idyllic: a leisurely drive through the sun-drenched landscape of Provence. But Charity's dream holiday turns into a nightmare when she becomes embroiled in a sinister plot to kidnap a young boy. She soon finds herself in a deadly pursuit and must uncover who to trust . . . and who to fall for.

Whenever I look back now on the strange and terrifying events of that holiday in Southern France, I remember the minutes I spent gazing at the golden arches of the Roman aqueduct over the Gardon... the last brief lull before the thunder.


'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet Evans

'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.' Herald

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - EmpressReece - LibraryThing

I loved the suspense but I just want to smack Mrs. Selbourne for doing some of the stupidest things during the car chase. Its like come on surely you are not that dumb!!! I had to give it one less star because she irritated me so bad!! Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - SueinCyprus - LibraryThing

A light thriller from the middle of the 20th century, written in Mary Stewart's usual terse but very readable style. Charity is on holiday and finds herself embroiled in high drama, involving a young ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2011)

Mary Stewart was one of the 20th century's bestselling and best-loved novelists. She was born in Sunderland, County Durham in 1916, but lived for most of her life in Scotland, a source of much inspiration for her writing. Her first novel, Madam, Will You Talk? was published in 1955 and marked the beginning of a long and acclaimed writing career. In 1971 she was awarded the International PEN Association's Frederick Niven Prize for The Crystal Cave, and in 1974 the Scottish Arts Council Award for one of her children's books, Ludo and the Star Horse. She was married to the Scottish geologist Frederick Stewart, and died in 2014.