Maddigan's Fantasia

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Oct 9, 2007 - Juvenile Fiction - 499 pages
4 Reviews
When twelve-year-old Garland Maddigan asks Timon and Eden where they have come from, she is overwhelmed by their answer: the future.

In a post-apocalyptic time, Garland's family's traveling circus troop, Maddigan's Fantasia, leaves the city of Solis once a year to perform and earn a living. However, this year Solis has given the Fantasia the crucial task of obtaining a new solar converter, the only power source in Solis, because the old one is failing.

Misfortune finds the Fantasia in their travels, and Garland's father dies in an attack by Road Rats. Then suddenly two mysterious boys, Timon and Eden, appear with their baby sister, claiming to be from the future -- a world in which the Fantasia has failed in its mission and the evil Nennog has taken power. The boys have come to help the Fantasia, but danger has followed them across time. Can the Fantasia protect Timon and Eden, and succeed in their quest to save their world?

Internationally renowned author Margaret Mahy spins a vivid tale of time travel, adventure, and magic that no reader will soon forget.


What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - maureene87 - LibraryThing

Started and completed today I really enjoyed this one which was much more in the Magicians of Hoad vein than the Changeover vein. The Fantasia reminded me a bit of Cart and Cwidder, but the story and ... Read full review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

great book, must read !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Losing Ferdy
Secret Watchers
Secret Followers
Flowers from the Air
Time Travelers
The Gorge
The Other Diary
Getting into Gramth
A Scaly Hand
Into the Swampland
Waking Sleeping Beauty
Fantasia Fever
The Apothecarys Nidus
The MindWeed Dream
The Children of Newton

Meeting a Rebel
Dark Happenings

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

Margaret Mahy has lived in New Zealand her entire life.  A former children’s librarian, she decided to become a full-time writer in 1980. From picture books to YA novels, the age groups for which she writes vary as much as the characters in her stories. She won the British Library Association’s Carnegie medal for The Haunting and The Changeover: A Supernatural Romance. She has also written such books as Alchemy and Maddigan’s Fantasia. An author whose books have received many accolades and praise around the world, Mahy was awarded the Order of New Zealand, the highest honor a citizen of that country can receive, and in 2006 she was announced the winner of the International Board on Books for Young People’s Hans Christian Andersen Award, given to a living author whose works have made a lasting contribution to children’s literature.

Bibliographic information