Made in Goatswood

Front Cover
Scott David Aniolowski
Chaosium, 1995 - Fiction - 268 pages
1 Review
A celebration of Ramsey Cambell

Most acknowledge him as the greatest living writer of the horror tale in the English language. This volume contains all-new stories by seventeen admiring fellow-authors. All the stories are set in that ancient and fearful portion of England's Severn Valley which Mr. Campbell evoked in narratives such as "The Moon-Lens." Included in this book is a new story by him, his first Severn Valley yarn in decades. Published in conjunction with his trip to the United States.

Eighteen stories, decorative map of the region, portrait of Ramsey Cambell, Introduction by the editor.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - aadyer - LibraryThing

Some excellent work here, but some stories were sadly lacking the deeper vision of Campbell. Certainly there was some excellent entries "Beauty", "Fortunes", "Cross My Heart", "The Queen", "The ... Read full review


Ghost Lake Donald R Burleson
Unseen Penelope Love
FORTUNES Keith Doc Herber

9 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1995)

John Ramsey Campbell was born January 4, 1946 in Liverpool, England. He is a horror fiction author and editor. At the age of 11 he wrote a collection called Ghostly Tales which was published as a special issue of Crypt of Cthulhu magazine titled- Ghostly Tales- Crypt of Cthulhu 6. He continued to write and later published his collection called The Inhabitant of the Lake and Less Welcome Tenants. At the suggestion of August Derleth, he rewrote many of his earliest stories, which he had originally set in the Massachusetts locales of Arkham, Dunwich and Innsmouth, and relocated them to English settings in and around the fictional Gloucestershire city of Brichester. The invented locale of Brichester was deeply influenced by Campbell's native Liverpool, and much of his later work is set in the real locales of Liverpool. In particular, his 2005 novel Secret Stories both exemplifies and satirizes Liverpoolian speech, characters and humor. John Campbell's titles include The Doll Who Ate His Mother, The One Safe Place , The Seven Days of Cain and The Last Revelation of Gla'aki.

Bibliographic information