Maggie May: Escaping the past is never easy...

Front Cover
Headline, Mar 4, 2010 - Fiction - 258 pages
0 Reviews

One young woman escapes the shame of her early life on 1880s Merseyside, only to find that fate has dark plans for her future...

Lyn Andrews' Maggie May is a powerful and evocative saga set on the streets of Victorian Liverpool. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Katie Flynn.

Maggie May, born into the slums of Liverpool in the 1880s, had many difficulties to cope with - a drunken father, the early death of her gentle mother, and the grinding poverty of their lives. But most of all, she had to endure the shame of her name, a name given to her by her father out of sheer spite - the name of the city's most notorious prostitute.

Taking care of her younger brother and desperately trying to live down her name, Maggie manages to escape from Liverpool to enjoy an idyllic new life. But fate forces her back again and into the arms of a stranger who is to bring her both heartbreak and the greatest happiness she will ever know.

What readers are saying about Maggie May:

'A truly magnificent book'

'From the very beginning, the characters draw you in... I could not put this book down'

'Maggie May is a well written novel, it starts very well and holds your interest. As you read further into the book there are unexpected twists'

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Lyn Andrews was born in Liverpool in 1944; her father Joseph was killed on D-Day just nine months later. Lyn was brought up in Liverpool and became a secretary before she married and gave birth to triplets. Once the children had gone to school Lyn began writing, and her first novel was quickly accepted for publication. She has since written over thirty books, many of them Sunday Times bestsellers.

Lyn lives on the Isle of Man, but spends many weeks of the year back on Merseyside, seeing her children and grandchildren.

www.lynandrewsbooks.co.uk
www.facebook.com/LynAndrewsBooks
Twitter: @LynSagaAuthor

Bibliographic information