Maggie of Moss Street: Love, tragedy and a woman's struggle to do what's right

Front Cover
Headline, Jun 7, 2012 - Fiction - 336 pages
0 Reviews

A tale of temptation and tribulation set under the storm clouds of war and class.

Pam Evans, much-loved author of In the Dark Streets Shining and Harvest Nights, weaves her magic yet again in this wartime saga, complete with romance, tragedy and a heart-breaking love triangle. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Hutchinson and Dilly Court.

'An unforgettable tale of life during the war' - Our Time

The Brightwells live in Moss Street in a shabby area of London's Shepherd's Bush. Maggie Brightwell's father was killed in the Blitz by a bomb that also injured her brother Tom. Yet Maggie is a lively, warm-hearted girl. She works as a typist in central London and becomes good friends with Chloe Anderson, the spoilt daughter of her rich boss. When her boss begins to take a more than paternal interest in Maggie, she is horrified and quickly changes jobs, becoming an assistant in a run-down flower shop in Moss Street. She soon falls for the happy-go-lucky owner Jack Radford and they marry. But their happiness is threatened by a developing relationship between Maggie and her best friend Chloe's new charismatic husband. Maggie is determined not to hurt those closest to her and provide a better life for her family, but can she resist temptation?

What readers are saying about Maggie of Moss Street:

'A very readable book which I thoroughly recommend. 10/10!'

'This story had so many twists and turns which made it so exciting. I couldn't put it down'

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2012)

Pam Evans was born and brought up in Ealing, London. She now lives in Surrey, near to her family and five beautiful grandchildren. For more information about Pam and her novels visit www.pamevansbooks.com.

Bibliographic information