Magic on the Storm

Front Cover
Penguin Books Limited, May 10, 2012 - Fiction - 368 pages
9 Reviews

Magic hunter Allie Beckstrom returns in Magic on the Storm, the fourth instalment of this fantastic US urban fantasy series by Devon Monk - perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris, Laurell K. Hamilton and Karen Chance.

'Magic stirred in me . . . I closed my eyes, wanting to lose myself to it. Wanting to use magic in every way I could. But that would be bad. I had enough magic inside me; I could burn down a city. And I didn't want to do that . . .'

Allie Beckstrom knows better than most that when magic's involved, you always pay. Whether the price is migraines, amnesia, or muscle aches, she is committed to her work as a Hound, tracing illegal spells back to their casters. But her job is about to get much more dangerous.

There's a stom of apocalyptic force bearing down on Portland, and when it hits, all the magic in the area will turn unstable and destructive. To stop it from taking out the entire city, Allie and her lover, the mysterious Zayvion Jones, must work with the Authority - the enigmatic arbiters of all things magic - and make a stand against a magical wild storm that will obliterate all in its path.

If you love urban fantasy, then Magic on the Storm by Devon Monk is a must have read.

'Gritty setting, compelling, fully realized characters, and a frightening system of magic-with-a-price that left me awed' Rachel Vincent

'Loved it. Fiendishly original and a stay-up-all-night read' Patricia Briggs

Devon Monk has one husband, two sons, and a dog named Mojo. She lives in Oregon and is surrounded by colourful and numerous family members who mostly live within dinner-calling distance of each other. Devon's previous novels, Magic to the Bone, Magic in the Blood and Magic in the Shadows, have also been published by Penguin. Visit her on the web at www.devonmonk.com.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - librarycatnip - LibraryThing

I think the world building is solid, and appreciated the growth in her relationship with her father. There may be some interesting family commentary to be made if the author continues in this vein. I ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Mirkwood - LibraryThing

These just get better and better, I can't stop. I began with a 5 star review on the first one in the series and have barely done anything but read since. Edge of your seat read this one. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2012)

Devon Monk has one husband, two sons, and a dog named Mojo. She lives in Oregon and is surrounded by colourful and numerous family members who mostly live within dinner-calling distance of each other. Devon's previous novels, Magic to the Bone, Magic in the Blood and Magic in the Shadows, have also been published by Penguin. Visit her on the web at www.devonmonk.com.

Bibliographic information