The Malayan Trilogy

Front Cover
Minerva, 1996 - British - 582 pages
0 Reviews

'Like all good comic writers Mr Burgess lives his creations as much as he writes them. First class'

Anthony Burgess was an officer in the Colonial Service. In The Malayan Trilogy - Time for a Tiger, The Enemy in the Blanket and Beds in the East - he satirises the dog days of colonialism. Victor Crabbe is a well meaning, ineffectual English man in the tropics, keen to teach the Malays what the West can do for them. Through Crabbe's rise and fall and a series of wonderfully colourful characters, Burgess lays bare racial and social prejudices of post-war Malaya during the upheaval of Independence.

What people are saying - Write a review

THE LONG DAY WANES: A Malayan Trilogy

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

This is Burgess' earlier Malayan trilogy, which includes Time for a Tiger, The Enemy in the Blanket and Beds in the East, Burgess' comic valedictory to colonialism, centering around the experiences of an Englishman in the Education Service. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1996)

Anthony Burgess was born in Manchester in 1917. He served in the army from 1940 to 1954 before becoming a colonial education officer. It was while he held this post that doctors told him he would die, and he decided to try to live by writing. A prolific and respected author, Burgess died in 1993.

Bibliographic information