Man Descending: Selected Stories

Front Cover
Ticknor & Fields, 1985 - Fiction - 230 pages
0 Reviews
Tells the stories of a boy's first dance, a dying man's last wishes, a sickly observer, a family reunion, farm life, and an alcoholic's decline

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


The Watcher
How the Story Ends

7 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1985)

Author Guy Vanderhaeghe was born in Esterhazy, Saskatchewan, Canada on April 5, 1951. He received both a Bachelor of Arts degree in History and a Master of Arts degree in History from the University of Saskatchewan and a Bachelor of Education degree from the University of Regina. He is the author of three collections of short stories, whose titles are "Man Descending," which won the Governor General's Award for English fiction and the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize in Great Britain, "My Present Age" and "The Englishman's Boy," which won the Governor General's Award for English fiction (1996), the Saskatchewan Book Award Fiction prize and the Saskatchewan Book of the Year Award. His novel "Homesick" was a co-winner of the City of Toronto Book Award. His first play "I Had a Job I Liked. Once." was given the Canadian Authors Association prize for the best drama published in 1993.

Bibliographic information