Marking Time

Front Cover
Pan Books, 1993 - Families - 452 pages
0 Reviews
As the shadows of the Second World War roll in, a new generation of Cazalets take up the family's story. Louise, who dreams only of playing Hamlet, is brought brutally to the realisation that her parents have their own lives, too, with secrets, passions and yearnings. Clary, who religiously documents all aspects of her life in diaries and letters, learns that her father, who was in the Navy, is now missing somewhere on the shores of France. And sensitive, imaginative Polly feels stuck - stuck without a vocation, stuck without information about her's mother's illness, without anything except for her nightmares about the war.

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

A perfect if inauspicious title for this second course of Howard's Cazalet Chronicles (begun with The Light Years, 1990), since this latest is all idling before something big happens—as the Cazalet ... Read full review

Marking time: volume 2 of The Cazalet Chronicle

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

As this second volume of the "Cazalet Chronicle'' (after The Light Years , LJ 8/1/90) opens in September 1939, the Cazalet family prepares for war. Three Cazalet cousins--Louise, Polly, and Clary--are ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1993)

Elizabeth Jane Howard was the author of fifteen highly acclaimed novels. The Cazalet Chronicles - The Light Years, Marking Time, Confusion, Casting Off and All Change - have become established as modern classics and have been adapted for a major BBC television series and most recently for BBC Radio 4. In 2002 Macmillan published Elizabeth Jane Howard's autobiography, Slipstream. In that same year she was awarded a CBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours List.

Bibliographic information