The Matchmakers

Front Cover
Bethany House Publishers, 1997 - Fiction - 137 pages
2 Reviews
A young widow with two small sons feels very fortunate that her widowed father was there to help her care for the boys and make adjustments since her husband's death. But now, a bit smothered by his caregiving, she feels she is ready to go on, but is concerned about how to get him to step back a pace. A friend suggests a fine older widow in church, who might divert his attention. The older widow has a son who appears rather distant and seemingly self-absorbed. But through scheming and friendly manipulation, they get the two "oldsters" together, but the results are hardly what they anticipated!

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - NadineC.Keels - LibraryThing

Since the early passing of her husband, Cynthia has been grateful for her father's help with her two young sons. Now Cynthia wants a bit more space to get on with her life, but she's worried about her ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - gamermom2004 - LibraryThing

Such a wonderful little story that tricks you in the end. I do wish it would have been a little longer and let you know what happened a little while down the road. Very true to life to the way people really think and feel. Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1997)

Janette Oke (pronounced "oak") was born in Champion, Alberta, Canada, during the depression years. She graduated from Mountain View Bible College in Didsbury, Alberta where she met her husband, Edward. She and Edward married in 1957 and went on to serve churches in Calgary and Edmonton, Canada, and Indiana. Oke published her first book, Love Comes Softly, in 1979. The book experienced immediate success because works of fiction were a virtually unknown genre in the Christian publishing industry. Oke has gone on to publish some 36 romance novels, earning her the 1992 President's Award from the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association. She is the author of the "Love Comes Softly" and the "Prairie Legacy" series of books. Oke enjoys a large reading audience primarily comprised of teenagers, homemakers and working women. She recently started writing for young children.

Bibliographic information