Matilda who told lies and was burned to death

Front Cover
Dial Press, May 1, 1992 - Juvenile Nonfiction - 29 pages
2 Reviews
An incorrigible liar finds that when she needs help the most no one will believe what she has to say.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Mrs_McGreevy - LibraryThing

Yet another in my batch of offbeat kids books, this book is perfect for fans of Edward Gorey. The story is Belloc's take on The Little Boy Who Cried Wolf and follows Matilda as she lies about numerous ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - whiteperch - LibraryThing

Years ago I went into the Bangor Public Library (in Maine) to look at this book as a possible gift for my niece. An older woman in the children's section got huffy and told me that this library would ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1992)

Hilaire Belloc, 1870 - 1953 Hilaire Belloc was born in France in 1870, educated at Oxford, and naturalized as a British subject in 1902. Although he began as a writer of humorous verse for children, his works include satire, poetry, history, biography, fiction, and many volumes of essays. With his close friend and fellow Catholic, G. K. Chesterton, Belloc founded the New Witness, a weekly newspaper opposing capitalism and free thought and supporting a philosophy known as distributism. The pair was so close in thought and association that George Bernard Shaw nicknamed them Chesterbelloc. During his life, Belloc published over 150 books. Today, however, he is best remembered for only a few works, most notably his light verse, such as Cautionary Tales (1907) and A Bad Child's Book of Beasts (1896). Belloc died in 1953 from burns caused when his dressing gown caught fire from the hearth.

Stephen Kellogg was born in Norwalk, Connecticut on October 26, 1941. He attended the Rhode Island School of Design and majored in illustration. While in college, he won a fellowship to spend his senior year studying and working in Florence, Italy. Kellogg has illustrated over one hundred titles and written some of his own. Titles he has written include the Island of the Skog, which won the Michigan State Young Readers Award, and was included on Booklist's Books for Every Child and the CBC Books for Peace list, A Rose for Pinkerton!, Pinkerton, Behave!, and Tallyho, Pinkerton!

Bibliographic information