Miracle of the Jacal

Front Cover
Leisure Books, 2001 - Fiction - 314 pages
1 Review
Elfego Baca was a young lawman -- but he already had a reputation. He was known to be good with a gun. Very good. And he was known to never back down, especially if he was fighting for something he believed in. This reputation spread far and wide throughout his home territory of New Mexico. Sometimes it worked in his favor, sometimes it worked against him. But there would come a day when his reputation would not only be tested, but expanded -- a day when young Elfego would have to prove just how good with a gun he really was . . . and how brave. It would be a day when he would have to do the impossible and live through it. People would talk about that day for a long time afterward. In fact, they're still talking about the . . .

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lamour - LibraryThing

A novel based on the life of the real Elfego Baca who was a lawman and politician in New Mexico in the late 19th and early 20th Centuries. Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2001)

Robert J. Randisi was a mystery writer who, in 1979, was asked to create a Western Series to be published by Charter Books. He created the Gunsmith Series, writing under the pseudonym J. R. Roberts, which he followed with a story in the Tracker Series as Tom Cutter and seven other western series under seven other pseudonyms. He has also written several Mystery stories as well. Randisi is the author of over 400 novels, 40 short stories, has edited 25 anthologies and has written under 15 pseudonyms. He founded the Private Eye Writers of America and created the Shamus Award. He is co-founder of Mystery Scene Magazine and the American Crime Writer's League. Randisi has also the edited Mean Streets and the Private Eye Writers of America's newsletter. He was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Southwest Mystery Convention and has been nomiated for the Shamus Award four times.

Bibliographic information