More than Riches: Love, longing and rash decisions

Front Cover
Headline, Jan 19, 2012 - Fiction - 329 pages
0 Reviews

Has Rosie destroyed her chances of love and happiness for ever?

In More Than Riches, Josephine Cox writes a heart-breaking, yet uplifting, saga of a young woman, her choices and her second chance at happiness. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Cathy Sharp.

When Rosie's parents were involved in a train accident, her mother was killed and her father left crippled, unable to earn a living and relying on Rosie to keep the wolf from the door.

With her mother gone and her sweetheart Adam away in the army, Rosie is lonely. She eagerly awaits the letters from him, but they never come. As she grows more disillusioned, Adam's best friend Doug goes out of his way to be charming and attentive. Alone and confused, Rosie blossoms under his evil influence. Soon she is carrying Doug's baby and her father has thrown her out of the house. Realising she has no choice, she agrees to marry Doug.

As if she isn't in enough trouble, Rosie's whole world falls apart when a warm and wonderful letter arrives from Adam... telling her he's on his way home.

What readers are saying about More Than Riches:

'Couldn't put this book down, I loved the story line and was kept captivated [throughout]'

'It's been a long time since I read a book that I put down last thing at night and couldn't wait to pick up again in the morning. This book was one of them'

'This book was good from start to finish. Just could not put it down, had me spellbound all the way through'

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2012)

Josephine Cox was born in a cotton-mill house in Blackburn, one of ten children. At the age of sixteen, Josephine met and married her husband Ken, and had two sons. When the boys started school, she decided to go to college and eventually gained a place at Cambridge University. She was unable to take this up as it would have meant living away from home, but she went into teaching - and started to write her first full-length novel. Her strong, gritty stories are taken from the tapestry of life.

Bibliographic information