Mother Aegypt and Other Stories

Front Cover
Night Shade, Oct 1, 2006 - Fiction - 241 pages
Hugo and Nebula Award-nominee Kage Baker, creator of The Company series and the fantasy novel Anvil of the World, delivers a spectacular collection that includes stories set in both universes, as well as several stand-alone pieces that demonstrate why she is one the most talked-about writers in the sf/fantasy genre.

From contemporary settings to a not-so-innocent America of the 50s and 60s, to the roaring 20s, to Victorian England and to imaginary realms beyond, Kage Baker’s fiction delivers layers of historical and social detail that become the stage on which her instantly recognizable characters perform. Her insightful portraits of humanity create an immediacy that is undeniable and compelling.

While the settings and characters of Mother Aegypt will leave you breathless, it is Baker’s accessible, yet oddly whimsical style that will keep you turning pages and coming back for more. Kage Baker’s remarkable narrative talents are a gift to readers of fantastic fiction. Her stories invariably deliver a sense of wonder and magic that transcends place and time.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - rivkat - LibraryThing

I liked these a lot, much more than the last few Company books I read. Many are vicious satires either of standard fantasy tropes or of specific stories (including A Midsummer Night’s Dream and ... Read full review

Mother Aegypt: and Other Stories

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

A young lord makes a bold career move in "Leaving His Cares Behind," the lead-off story in this collection by the author of "The Company" series. From a new look at Gulliver's Travels ("Miss Yahoo Has ... Read full review


Leaving His Cares Behind
The Briscian Saint
Miss Yahoo Has Her Say

7 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2006)

Kage Baker was born in Hollywood, California on June 10, 1952. Her first novel, In the Garden of Iden, was published in 1997. She was a science fiction and fantasy writer, who was best known for The Company series. Her other works included Mendoza in Hollywood (2000), House of the Stag (2009), and the short story Caverns of Mystery (2009). The Empress of Mars (2003) won the Theodore Sturgeon Award. She died from uterine cancer on January 31, 2010.